“Play is the answer to how anything new comes about.” 

 Jean Piaget




EYFS Curriculum at Padiham Green

At Padiham Green we aim to provide an enabling safe environment where children feel happy and secure. Where they will be active and be provided with exciting learning opportunities to support them in their development. Children have access to our wonderful outdoor provision and our on site Forest School area.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the period of time decribed by the Government, children spend in education between birth and age 5. Class R provides the final stage of your child's learning journey of the phase.

The Early Years curriculum is called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. It contains seven areas of learning and development.

Prime areas of learning:

1. Communication and Language

2. Physical Development

3. Personal, Social and Emotional Development


Specific areas of learning:

1. Literacy

2. Mathematics

3. Understanding the World

4. Expressive Arts and Design

These seven areas are used to plan your child’s learning activities.

At the end of the EYFS – in the summer term of the Reception year in school – teachers complete an assessment which is known as the EYFS Profile.

It states whether your child has reached expected levels in the seven areas of learning at the end of the Reception year. These expectations are called the Early Learning Goals (ELGs).


Files to Download

Student Login